5 STAR COOKBOOK REVIEWS
PLEASE SIGN OUR GUEST BOOK AND SHARE YOU STORY - WE
WILL POST IT TO GROWING LIST OF CUSTOMER REVIEWS!
helen's hungarian heritage recipes, mom's hungarian heritage recipes,treasured hungarian family recipes, helen's hungarian rhapsody of recipes, helen's hungarian heritage recipe collection, Ilona Szabo, best hungarian recipes, best hungarian cookbooks,top 10 hungarian cookbooks, hungarian cookbook, hungarian gulyas, hungarian gulyas, flavours of Hungary, put a little paprika in your life, magyar szakacskonv, magyar etel, hungarian food, hungarian recipes, hungarian tortes, hungarian pastries, magyar tortak, magyar receptek, porkolt, paprikas, dobos torta, gerbeaud, zserbo, eszterhazy torte, eszterhazy cake, walnut cake, beigli, rigo jancsi, turos beles, nokedli, paprika, hungarian paprika,
Dream Machine Publications
Paris, Ontario, Canada
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes©
Cookbook ™
Copyright © 1938-2013 by Dream Machine Publications
ALL Rights Reserved.
No words, titles, subtitles, phrases, graphics or otherwise from this site may be
reproduced without written consent by the author.
Created December 2005
Last Updated February 21, 2014
Hungarian Recipes,
Hungarian Cookbook,
Hungarian Cooking,
Hungarian Food, Hungarian
Heritage Recipes, Hot
Hungarian Chef, Hot
Hungarians, Hungarian
Heritage Recipes, Clara
Margaret Czegeny, Helen I.
Czegeny, Magyar
Szakacskonv, Helens
Hungarian Heritage Recipes
TM, My Mom's Hungarian
Heritage Recipes, Helen's
Hungarian Rhapsody of
Recipes, Flavours of
Hungary, Put a Little Paprika
in Your Life!
BestSelling Author;
Chef Clara Czegeny
JANUARY 4, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars IT GETS FROM GOOD TO BETTER!
By Daniel M. Kolos (Orangeville, Ontario Canada)

This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (The Czegeny Family's Cherished Hungarian
Recipes) (Spiral-bound)

Well, the good news is that the Szekely Kaposzta (cabbage made Szekely style) was so authentic, my mother
could not have made the dish any better! Now for the even better news: I am just finishing the third meal of
it! Although I don't usually eat pork (bacon with breakfast excepted), I had no trouble eating this one: the
pork was soft and delicious!!! The ratio between cabbage and meat was perfect.

Another thing. As I found with Hungarian food, the leftovers seem to tastes better and better with each day.
With the first meal, I was curious and satisfied. By the third meal, I was salivating even as I took the first
whiff of it in the refrigerator. Now I must try some of the other recipes.
JANUARY 1, 2012
~~~~
Dear Clara & Helen
My husband and my son really enjoyed the Hungarian layered sauerkraut recipe from your lovely Hungarian
cookbook. I also enjoyed watching the cooking video on Foodtube. It really helped me get it perfect.

We also gave a sample to our Hungarian friends and they absolutely loved it. So much so that he ordered an
e-book and posted a review on Amazon.ca. Go figure.
~~~~~~
Rachel & Ray Desmarais, Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
JANUARY 2, 2012

Dear Helen and Clara
A good Google search led me to your website.
THANK YOU!~

I just want to say thank you for producing this wonderful recipe book because as many of us of Hungarian
decent recall, we grew up with our grandmothers creating amazing meals with their favourite coffee mug of
flour and a pinch of this and a handful of that.

Sad to say, none of the recipes that were written down ever resembled what was presented to us on our tables
growing up. As we became young women trying to replicate these recipes, we failed time and again because
either they were in 1/2 English and 1/2 Hungarian or all Hungarian or just a "very rough guideline" to follow.
We couldn't get it just right.

But NOW, we have a reference with proper measurements and cooking and baking times. I so very much
appreciate having your cookbook to refer to!

Oh and by the way, I think that Helen started cooking at the tender age of 6.

Could you also send me a list of local book stores who might carry your book? I have friends who have seen my
book and want copies of their own! I bought my copy at Coles, Simcoe!

Thank you again!
Lisa Chanyi-Baruth, Waterford, Ontario


MARCH 14, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Hungarian Cookbook - Ever
By Irene and Bob Allen, Collingwood,Ontario

This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
I purchased two of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipe books for Christmas. One was for myself and one for
my daughter.
I come from Hungarian background ( both sets of grandparents and my parents were born in Hungary and
they emigrated to Canada in the 1930's). I grew up with traditional Hungarian meals prepared by my
Grandmothers and my mother. Several recipes have been handed down but many were not on paper- only in
our heads. This cookbook is fabulous. It has all the delicious meals that I am familiar with. My daughter is
trying to keep the Hungarian cooking traditions going. The recipes are easy to follow and each one we try
tastes exactly like my Grandmother's. I have two other Hungarian cookbooks, but they don't come close to
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes.
Thank you Clara and Helen for sharing your recipes with the world!!!

March 6, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars One Happy Hungarian Girl,
By Beth - This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)

I love this cookbook. Not only are there wonderful, easy to follow recipes, it has a story to tell. I only wish
my Hungarian Father were here to share it with. The sweet little stories bring many memories of my Dad to
my mind. I laughed when I read the "confession" when Helen tells of dropping bread in the grease from the
sausage pan. My Dad always dipped his bread in the grease! I just ordered 2 more books to give to my
family. Thank you for this cookbook. It will become one of my family cookbooks to pass along to my kids! I
only wish I could sit at Helen's table and taste her cooking, listen to her stories and enjoy some Hungarian
happiness.

February 28, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing,
By Louis Bavaro (New York, NY United States)
This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
This book is fantastic. Well designed, with authentic recipes and easy to find ingredients. And I even love
the spiral binding!

February 26, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the best
By Rita - See all my reviews

This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
I'm Hungarian. I immigrated to the US when I was 14. Too young to learn to cook except for a few dishes.
But old enough to never forget the taste of Hungarian dishes, and know when it is not quite right. I have
other Hungarian cookbooks, but this is the only one that I can follow and end up with something that tastes
like I remember. I showed it to my mom today, who immigrated when she was 34, and has lots of recipes,
but they are not detailed enough, so she ends up experimenting a lot. She absolutely loved this cookbook, so
much so that I had to order an extra copy for her. It appears to be out of stock, but I hope she doesn't end
up waiting for it very long.


February 10, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars It Won't Get Any Better Than This!,
By Laura Ann Scaife "Laura Ann Scaife" (Vancouver, B.C. Canada) -

This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
I don't know quite where to begin with this review. This wonderful book is so filled with good things for the
soul! I have been a fan of Hungarian cooking ever since the first time my Mother made beef Goulash. From
that day I would come home hoping to smell the wonderful aromas of paprika, beef and onions. Eventually I
started cooking for my self, and finally decided to buy some ethnic cookbooks for the cultures I enjoy most:
Italian, Hungarian and Greek. This was the first Hungarian cookbook I bought, and it will be the last.
EVERYTHING I want is in this book. And it's not just the recipes that make this book. It's the comments
about why the author loves each recipe that brings out the heart of Hungarian cooking. Trust me, if you love
paprika and sour cream and food that will nourish your soul, this book is for you. Don't miss it!


February 8, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes,
By Wocket
This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
Just put in computer expecting to be cooking some awsome Hungarian food like Mom use to and like my
Mother in Law. Cant wait to get to cooking. Thank you for putting out such a product.


February 7, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars A Way to Connect,
By kaae -

This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
I got this book after finding a recipe at the blog "Hot Hungarian Chef" and have to say my family greatly
enjoyed going through it! My dad is Hungarian by birth and his family escaped Hungary in 1956 to Canada
(due to my grandfather's involvement with the revolution). My dad was fairly young at the time, but he
remembers eating a lot of the foods from the country made by my grandmother and recently found a shop
that sells Kolbasz and ships to us here in Virginia of the United States.

All that to say, my dad especially has enjoyed reminiscing about things just looking at the recipes and called
my grandmother to share things repeatedly from it. I've made a couple things so far and have enjoyed
listening to dad say "yes that's definitely..." about them! Thank you for putting this book together and being
willing to ship it to the United States! It has been a wonderful way to connect with my dad!
APRIL 22, 2012

5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Hungarian Cookbook Out There
By Paul Csurka, Arizona
This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)

I just received 2 copies of this Hungarian Heritage Recipe cookbook in the mail the last few days and been
browsing thru it ever since. So, here is my opinion for whatever is worth. I'm Hungarian born and been in
the States for 30 years but I was raised and lived in North Western Transylvania for the first 28 years. I'm
also a sausage maker/butcher by trade , so I know a little bit about Hungarian food.

I bought 2 books as a gift to my wife who's American born but loves Hungarian cooking and one additional
one for a friend. Let me tell you, I own several Hungarian cookbooks, but browsing thru this one I can tell
without hesitation that this is THE BEST HUNGARIAN COOKBOOK OUT THERE bar none!

Just like in other countries dishes differ from one region to another but I've never seen such consistency in
other cookbooks like in Clara Czegeny's. It just reminds me so much of the food that I grew up with.

As a matter of fact I just called my mom back home (ROMANIA), who's now 86 and I told her that I
FINALLY found a cookbook that is every bit like her cooking.

I know Hungarian cooking very well and I'm no rank beginner in cooking but this book is very impressive
and accurate, especially for the American born. It also gives a little introduction into the Hungarian culture ,
history and customs and of course the prayers and blessings.
If you like good food you cannot go wrong with this book, I highly recommend it. I also want to thank to the
authors, Chef Helen and Clara, for their effort and hard work for bringing this little gem to cooking
enthusiasts all over the English speaking world.
~~~~~


April 16, 2012
Dear Clara, while browsing for Hungarian recipes,I found you. It looks like a very compleat and interesting
book and it's very close to North Transylvania cooking,(I grew up in Maramarossziget) it contains many of
my favorite dishes. I have at least 5-6 Hungarian cookbooks like the one from Lang, Derecskey etc. I have
no problem with the price because I know the hard work and dedication it takes to put it forward. Can
hardly wait for my two copies and my free ebook dvd.
Tisztelettel
By Paul Csurka, Arizona,U.S.A.
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes
October 2, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars REMINDS ME OF NANI TOTH'S COOKING
By Meghan J. Toth
This review is from: “Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes” TM © 2005 (Spiral-bound)
As an avid cook, I was approached by my uncle to make Chicken Paprikás for our Hungarian family picnic,
which was in honor of my grandmother who had recently passed away. I ordered this book about a month
ahead of time so I could brush up on my Hungarian cooking skills. This book is wonderfully authentic and I
felt as if I was cooking alongside my grandmother once again. Thank you.

AUGUST 19, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING COOKBOOK
By James Sari
This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (E-book) (CD-ROM)
Now I have my XMAS shopping done for family and friends - this is it!

The pastry section alone was worth it, for Hungarians and non-Hungarians alike.
I've wondered for years how my grandmother could make pie crust so flaky and doughnuts so light you
would never again want them store bought.

Other reviews have commented on the authentic classic and peasant recipes. I will add only that some were
as if my mother had dictated from beyond the grave: the wonderfully simple yellow wax bean soup with dill
and sour cream (a great way to have your children eat their vegetables); the touch of saffron in an elegant
chicken soup; the homemade dill pickles cured in a covered crock in the sun. Most surprising were dishes
which must be uniquely Hungarian - that you would only find at a Hungarian social or family gathering - the
Hurka (pork and rice sausage), the Paprikas Szalonna (paprika cured bacon), and the backyard gypsy
bacon fry. You may not be adventurous enough to try them, but it is well worthwhile that they are
documented.

JULY 8, 2012

5.0 out of 5 stars JUST LIKE GRANDMA'S COOKING
By JBF - See all my reviews
This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
I ordered this cookbook for my daughter-in-law to be for her bridal shower. I read the reviews of other
Hungarian cookbooks and this one had the best ratings. The book lives up to the ratings! Many of my
grandmother's recipes are included in the book plus ones that I thought were lost forever (They were never
written down). I have been using the book so I will need to buy another for the shower! I will also buy this
as a gift for others. So many people comment about my Hungarian cooking and now I have a book that I can
refer them to. Thanks to the authors for bringing back so many fond memories of my childhood and my
grandmother.

MAY 21, 2012
5 out of 5 stars
A WONDERFUL TRIBUTE TO HOME COOKING
May 21, 2012
By Alice Szanto -
This review is from: Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes (Spiral-bound)
I love cookbooks not only for the gems of recipes they contain, but also just to read and soak up the
knowledge the chef may pass along. This cookbook, for those reasons will meet your expectations. If you
are looking for all those recipes that your distant Hungarian relatives make or used to make, they are in
here courtesy of Helen.
helen's hungarian heritage recipes, mom's hungarian heritage recipes,treasured hungarian family recipes, helen's hungarian rhapsody of recipes, helen's hungarian heritage recipe collection, Ilona Szabo, best hungarian recipes, best hungarian cookbooks,top 10 hungarian cookbooks, hungarian cookbook, hungarian gulyas, hungarian gulyas, flavours of Hungary, put a little paprika in your life, magyar szakacskonv, magyar etel, hungarian food, hungarian recipes, hungarian tortes, hungarian pastries, magyar tortak, magyar receptek, porkolt, paprikas, dobos torta, gerbeaud, zserbo, eszterhazy torte, eszterhazy cake, walnut cake, beigli, rigo jancsi, turos beles, nokedli, paprika, hungarian paprika,
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Hungarian Cookbook, Hungarian Recipes, Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM, Cooking, Hungarian Food
Chef Helen Czegeny, Co-Author of Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes TM
Helen's Hungarian Heritage Recipes ™©2005
BY CANADIAN BESTSELLING COOKBOOK AUTHORS
Clara Margaret Czegeny & Helen Irene Czegeny